This complete web thesis separates what the company reported from what the evidence can support today. The Professional PDF preserves the same approved research in a downloadable format.
- Research assessment
- Open · monitoring continues
- Record type
- Catalyst thesis
- Initiation
- Published record
Analyst view
My take,
Robinhood reported $1.31 billion of Q2 2026 total net revenue, up 32% year over year. Transaction-based revenue increased 44% to $776 million. Event contracts generated $156 million of revenue on 13.6 billion contracts traded, making the category the second-largest disclosed transaction-revenue line behind options.
Those results establish materiality, not durability. Robinhood does not disclose event-contract standalone expenses, incentive spending, customer-acquisition cost, clearing economics, contribution margin, retained-user cohorts, or a normalized event-calendar comparison.
Summary
What the evidence establishes
Dividing $156 million of event-contract revenue by 13.6 billion reported contracts produces approximately 1.15 cents of revenue per contract. This is N-Ledger calculation, not a disclosed fee schedule, take rate, contribution margin, profit per contract, or forecast.
How the evidence ties to the question
The decision question
The thesis asks: Robinhood: Can Prediction Markets Become a Durable Revenue Engine? At the next reporting period, compare event-contract revenue, contracts, and N-Ledger-calculated revenue per contract across multiple periods. Require disclosed incentives, expenses, customer retention, Rothera economics, catalog and regulatory changes, and a stable same-contract liquidity sample before concluding that Robinhood has durable share or…
Best company-reported evidence
Reported evidence
Dividing $156 million of event-contract revenue by 13.6 billion reported contracts produces approximately 1.15 cents of revenue per contract. This is N-Ledger calculation, not a disclosed fee schedule, take rate, contribution margin, profit per contract, or forecast.
| Transaction category | Q2 2026 revenue | Year-over-year change |
|---|---|---|
| Options | $342 million | +29% |
| Event contracts | $156 million | More than 10x |
| Equities | $129 million | +95% |
| Cryptocurrency | $100 million | -38% |
Interpretation boundary
N-Ledger calculations and rationale
Only evidence attributable to Robinhood and comparable across periods can advance the thesis.
Independent validation
Independent cross-check
Subtracting Rothera's $17 million from $156 million of Q2 event revenue produces $139 million for the core Hub on a venue-aligned basis. Comparing that with 13.6 billion Hub contracts shows volume growing faster than revenue and keeps Rothera's different matched-pair counting convention out of the yield calculation.
Challenge the thesis
Counterargument
The category can remain active while revenue per contract compresses, incentives and liquidity costs rise, or activity concentrates around a few major events. Rothera can also add revenue without improving consolidated prediction-market economics.
Two- to three-sentence peer check
Comparable context
Kalshi, Polymarket, and other event venues frame category demand, but contract counting, fee recognition, customer funding, and geographic access differ. Robinhood's own venue-aligned revenue-per-contract series is the primary comparable.
Failure conditions
Thesis risks
The thesis breaks if the next measurement does not show attributable movement, if a stronger alternative explanation displaces the mechanism, or if disclosure remains too weak to measure the stated outcome.
Why the view holds
Conclusion
Robinhood reported $1.31 billion of Q2 2026 total net revenue, up 32% year over year. Transaction-based revenue increased 44% to $776 million. Event contracts generated $156 million of revenue on 13.6 billion contracts traded, making the category the second-largest disclosed transaction-revenue line behind options.
Those results establish materiality, not durability. Robinhood does not disclose event-contract standalone expenses, incentive spending, customer-acquisition cost, clearing economics, contribution margin, retained-user cohorts, or a normalized event-calendar comparison.
Forward measurement
Next expected outcome assessment
At the next reporting period, compare event-contract revenue, contracts, and N-Ledger-calculated revenue per contract across multiple periods. Require disclosed incentives, expenses, customer retention, Rothera economics, catalog and regulatory changes, and a stable same-contract liquidity sample before concluding that Robinhood has durable share or favorable unit economics. Rising incentives, deteriorating revenue per contract or retention, lost aligned liquidity, or material product restrictions would weaken the thesis.
Evidence register
Sources
- 1.
www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1783879/000178387926000113/q22026robinhoodexhibit991.htm https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1783879/000178387926000113/q22026robinhoodexhibit991.htm SEC-filed primary record used for reported figures and period-matched evidence.
- 2.
www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1679788/000167978826000015/coin-20251231.htm https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1679788/000167978826000015/coin-20251231.htm SEC-filed primary record used for reported figures and period-matched evidence.
- 3.
www.cftc.gov/IndustryOversight/IndustryFilings/TradingOrganizations/42993 https://www.cftc.gov/IndustryOversight/IndustryFilings/TradingOrganizations/42993 Public source used for a cited fact, comparison, or independent cross-check.
- 4.
www.cftc.gov/IndustryOversight/IndustryFilings/TradingOrganizationRules/60688 https://www.cftc.gov/IndustryOversight/IndustryFilings/TradingOrganizationRules/60688 Public source used for a cited fact, comparison, or independent cross-check.
- 5.
polymarket.com/ https://polymarket.com/ Public source used for a cited fact, comparison, or independent cross-check.
Uniform standard
Source-use standard
- Reported fact: Directly stated in the cited record.
- N-Ledger calculation: Reproducible arithmetic from disclosed inputs.
- Scenario assumption: An explicit input used to bound outcomes, not a reported fact.
- Supported inference: Sourced links with the remaining weak link identified.
Uniform disclosure
Research assistance
Software- and AI-assisted workflows may support public-record discovery, evidence organization and preliminary checks. Automated output is not an authoritative source. The Founder & Research Lead reviews material evidence and approves published research conclusions.
Uniform disclosure
Opinion and investment-risk disclosure
This report is an independent opinion piece for informational and educational purposes. It is not personalized investment advice, an offer, solicitation, recommendation, price target, rating, or promise of any commercial, market, or investment outcome. Facts are drawn from cited public records; calculations, scenarios, and interpretations are the author's. Views may change as new evidence emerges. Investing involves risk, including possible loss of principal.